Weekly Anecdote by Andrea Pirlo #3

 

imageOn pre-match warm-ups:

“One part of my job I’ll never learn to love is the pre-match warm-up.  I hate it with every fibre of my being. It actually disgusts me. It’s nothing but masturbation for conditioning coaches, their way of enjoying themselves at the players’ expense. It’s an injustice being inflicted on beauty. If you’ve got Bar Refaeli* lying in front of you, naked, you just can’t wink at her and say, ‘wait there, I’ll be with you in 15 minutes.’ All you do in that quarter of an hour is think about her. You’ll hold everything back until you’ve got her in your arms. I managed to win despite doing no more than walk about during the 900 seconds that preceded the matches against Ghana, USA, Czech Republic, Australia, Ukraine, Germany, and France.”

*Israeli supermodel 

 

Leave a Reply

